The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Statutory Framework sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old (the end of their Reception year at Primary School). All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS.

Our youngest children will begin by focusing on three prime areas of development, namely:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

As children get older and grow in confidence and competence, the other four areas, known as the specific areas, will be expanded upon. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We plan activities that are fun and exciting for children, whilst meeting these learning and development requirements.

We have a ‘soft technology’ approach at Little Owls which means we have low levels of technology, using them for a purpose. We acknowledge that there is a great deal of technology in children’s lives from a young age so we encourage our children to spend their time at Little Owls developing ‘real-world’ experiences.

More information about the EYFS can be found on our parent’s notice board or on the Department for Education’s website:

Abby or any member of staff would be happy to discuss any curriculum related issues with you.